New Music Round-Up: Childish Gambino, Ariana Grande, Sigrid

Thumbnail for 131468

We’ve got a whole host of new music for you to enjoy this week!


Childish GambinoSummer Pack

Donald Glover returns as Childish Gambino to release two surprise summer-themed songs for us to sink our teeth into. ‘Summertime Magic’ begins with muted steel drums and Childish singing a sweet pop serenade – and then opens up into a bouncy synth-led, melodic dance song. ‘Feels Like Summer’ is more of a closed-eyed jam, a chiller track to accompany the energy of the first.


21-year-old Norwegian artist Sigrid’s new EP is something really special, and you definitely shouldn’t sleep on it. If you’re new to Sigrid, check out her video for Raw (Live) where it’ll become immediately clear that her talent is almost palpable.

Taylor Bennet – Be Yourself EP

Chicago MC, and Chance the rapper’s younger brother, Taylor Bennet dropped this brand-new EP which sees him maturing as an artist – and even has a feature from the one and only Young Thug. Continuing the recent trend of short releases, this EP is only 6 songs, or 20 minutes, long – so definitely give it a listen, it’s fantastic!

Not3s – Take Not3s II

The second instalment of his Take Not3s EP, the new EP has plenty of fire tracks including the lead single ‘M3 Not U’, and features Maleek Berry on ‘Sit Back Down’. Supa hot fire, check it out ASAP.

The Vamps – Night & Day (Day Edition)

This brand-new Vamps project comes with 10 new songs to accompany the old, including their past single ‘Personal’ and new tracks like ‘Hair Too Long’. They dedicated the album as a gift to their loyal fan base – awhh.


Ariana Grande – ‘God Is A Woman’

In the run-up to her long awaited next album Sweetener, Ariana is proving her talent has a diverse and far-out reach. This new track, especially compared to bop-pop style of ‘The Light Is Coming’ is colder and more serious. She really exercises her vocal talent, showing off her phenomenal falsetto and even harmonizing with herself to powerful effect. Don’t sleep on this one.

twenty one pilots– ‘Jumpsuit’ and ‘Nico And The Niners’

These two tracks are the first from their upcoming fifth studio album Trench. The first of the tracks ‘Jumpsuit’ is incredibly powerful, where ‘Nico And The Niners’ starts more spacey and then bursts into energy in the rap verse in the latter half.

Galantis – ‘Satisfied’ (ft. MAX) & ‘Mama Look At Me Now’

The duo return with two sun-kissed pop bops. ‘Satisfied’ featuring MAX is a little different for Galantis. It’s a funky summer bop, that’s incredibly catchy, where ‘Mama Look At Me Now’ is more classic Galantis, something of an anthem but with tropical summer-y production.

Brockhampton – ‘1999 WILDFIRE’

The boys have taken cues from Andre 3000 of OutKast on this brand new track– and we’re NOT complaining. The instrumentation is still very much what we know and love of the group, colourful and layered, with a catchy chorus and iconic fire verses. Make sure to check this one out.

Buddy – ‘Trippin’ (Ft. Khalid)

Compton rapper Buddy is joined by R&B artist Khalid to create a both trance-y and powerful track. It’s a slower track where the two complement each other perfectly, providing just the right amount of synergy and contrast.

Alessia Cara – ‘A Little More’

The Canadian singer-songwriter has given us a very heartfelt new track with ‘A Little More’. Softly strummed guitars paired with her angelic voice makes for a really beautiful track, give it a listen!

Cigarettes After Sex – ‘Sesame Syrup’

Another very sensual, affectionate song from Cigarettes After Sex – amongst all these summer jams the unwinding nature of the slowly strummed guitar and softly sung vocals is so necessary.

That’s all for this week!

Source:: MTV — News